NBA Awards

Last night was the 2019 NBA Awards, where the immigrants ruled the show! Rookie of the Year- Luka Doncic of Slovenia, MVP- Giannis Antetokounmpo (spelled that first try give me credit where it’s due) of Greece, Most Improved Player- Pascal Siakam of Cameroon, and Defensive Player of the Year-Rudy Gobert of France (Rudy so didn’t deserve it though). Today I’m gonna tell you who won what, why they won, and/or should they have won the award.

I’m going to start with Rookie of the year. The finalists were Deandre Ayton of the Phoenix Suns, Luka Doncic of the Dallas Mavericks, and Trae Young of the Atlanta Hawks. Okay Ayton was good, but we all know the real conversation was Young or Doncic. Doncic won, but it was an on and off season for him as well as it was for Young. The first half of the season was all about Luka, but the second half was about Ice Trae from the ATL, scratch that the TRAE-T-L. I do think Luka was more deserving, after all he had Trae beat in points, rebounds, steals, and blocks. Obviously Trae had him beat in assists. That’s okay though because Trae Young will go down in the history books as the all-time Drip God! Look at that, clean!

Next is the Most Improved Player award. The finalists were De’Aaron Fox, D’angelo Russel, and Pascal Siakam. I’m still not sure what I would say about this one, but I was bouncing around between Siakam and Russel. As of right now I’m thinking Siakam was the right decision, that can change – you never though. I say Siakam because he went from basically unknown to a top level player on a championship team. Russel on the other hand was a second overall pick and was expected to be an above average player in the NBA.

Next up is the Sixth Man of the Year award. Now this award right here has officially begun to make no sense. Last time I checked sixth man means your number one go to off the bench, am I correct (yes!). Why did the Clippers have two sixth man candidates as finalists. The two were Montrezl Harrell and eventual winner of the award, Lou Williams. The other finalist was Domantas Sabonis of the Indiana Pacers. I think Lou definitely deserved the award, he was the team’s best player…….OFF THE BENCH(not to mention Harrell might have been second)!

The Defensive Player of the Year Award was just stupid. The options were perimeter defender Paul George, interior defender Rudy Gobert, and all around defender, Giannis Antetokounmpo. To me it’s kind of clear that the one with the ability to do both should win, but the one trick pony, Rudy Gobert won the award. Thanks media.

Now it’s time to talk about the MVP award … whoa, whoa, whoa – can we show the coaches some respect first? Seriously! Mike Budenholzer of the Milwaukee Bucks won the award, but the man who should’ve won it wasn’t even a finalist! That man was a first year coach and won a championship with the Toronto Raptors. The winner was the Bucks head coach,(THE BUCKS LOST TO THE RAPTORS). How was Nick Nurse not even a finalist?!

Now we can talk MVP. The finalists were Paul George, Giannis Antetokounmpo, and James Harden. Giannis won which I think was the correct outcome. It was definitely tempting to say Harden deserved to win because of the history he was making in terms of scoring the rock. 32 games straight with 30+ points, that’s amazing! Giannis has made himself the third youngest MVP in NBA history. What an awards show!

Leave a comment if you have thoughts on anything I said. See you guys next post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s